Trade Facilitation > United Kingdom

Trade Mark East Africa (TMEA)

TMEA is a not for profit organisation that gives technical and monetary support to the EAC Secretariat, national governments, private sector and civil society so they can enhance trade and markets in the region for the benefit of all East Africans. A multi-donor programme, it covers trade policy reform, trade-related infrastructure, regional investment climate harmonization, export development, trade facilitation, and coping with the social and environmental adjustment costs of deeper integration and rapid export-led growth.

Trade Mark Southern Africa (TMSA)

The main objective is to improve trade performance and competitiveness of the Eastern and Southern Africa regions – contributing to sustainable, rapid and inclusive growth and poverty reduction. It supports the work of the 26-member Tripartite of the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA), the East African Community (EAC) and the Southern African Development Community (SADC). The £100m, 5-year programme is funded by the UK’s Department for International Development (DFID) as a follow-on from the Regional Trade Facilitation Programme (RTFP), funded by DFID between 2003 and 2009. 

Support for West African Regional Integration (SWARIP)

SWARIP is an £11m DFID programme to support institutional capacity building, trade facilitation, aid for trade and the expansion of evidence and policy dialogue on regional integration in the ECOWAS region.

South Asia Regional Trade and Integration Project (SARTIP)

SARTIP is a £20million project that supports trade facilitation across West, Central and South Asia. This is a new project that will run for the next 4 years. This is being implemented by the IFC, World Bank and ADB, and also involves working with the private sector.