Legal and Regulatory Framework > Belgium

EAC Partnership Fund

The Government of Belgium signed an MOU with the East African Community (EAC) Secretariat to support the EAC member countries in regional integration, and Belgium contributed €300,000 to the EAC Partnership Fund, a basket fund mechanism with annual contributions from development partners (DPs) aimed at supporting the EAC Secretariat’s capacity building and some key elements of the EAC Development Strategy Created on 15 September 2006, the Fund is open to DPs, who finance the Fund through contribution agreements and MoUs signed between DPs and the EAC. Its members include Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Norway, Sweden and the United Kingdom. Other non-contributing members are the EC, Japan and the World Bank. The objectives of the Fund include: (i) promoting implementation of the EAC Treaty in order to enhance the regional integration and socio-economic development of the EAC by funding activities for its development; (ii) facilitating the planning and accounting of DPs’ funds by disbursing into a common basket fund; and (iii) encouraging DPs and the EAC to jointly contribute to the Fund to ensure the availability of funds for activities.

For more information:

Trademark East Africa (TMEA) Burundi Programme

In November 2009, the Belgian Minister for Development Cooperation approved a voluntary contribution of €2 million annually in the period 2009 – 2013 to the Trademark East Africa (TMEA) Burundi Programme of the UK’s Department for International Development (DFID). This example of delegated cooperation complements earlier contributions to the EAC integration project, such as the €300,000 given to the EAC’s Partnership Fund and €1 million to TMEA’s Burundi Programme earlier in 2009.